m.k. čiurlionis concert centre.

Competition

H. ir O. Minkovskiy g.

Kaunas (LT)

In Lithuania’s capital Kaunas, which is European Capital of Culture 2022, a new multifunctional concert and cultural centre with 11,750 m² and public open space with 6,600 m² near the city centre and directly on the river Nemunas is to be built.

Project category

New built

Planning period

2017

Building data

Plot size: 47,890 m²
Built up area: ca. 8,000–10,000 m² planned
Gross floor area: 5,500 m²

Services

Competition

Status

Competition complete

Team

Project director: Christoph Wassmann
Project leader: Christoph Wassmann
Project team: Christoph Wassmann, Severin Turk, Clemens Aniser, Felix Steinhoff

Consultants and specialist planners

Structural planning: Bollinger Grohmann  

Website

competitions.org

The competition proposal envisages a monumental but geometrically simple building complex. The complex consists of two superimposed platforms with embedded and overhanging, widely visible building volumes. A playfully and poetically designed river landscape with a sound forest, sculpture garden, summer stage for 1,500 people, labyrinth, playground, landing stage for ships and promenade extends around the building.

 

Taking advantage of the topography of the site, the upper platform forms a public square at street level, which is a waterfront residence, viewing platform and access to the cultural centre. Openings lead to the lower platform at river level, the main functional area. Delivery, service and office zones are located on the street side. Foyer and public areas such as gastronomy, shops and multifunctional event areas are a light-flooded space continuum in which the surrounding city and river landscape form an impressive backdrop. Embedded in it are the main concert hall for 1,500 people with 25 m room height, a smaller concert hall for 700 people and the conference centre for 600 people.

related projects.

Stadttheater Landshut

city theatre landshut.

Competition

84028 Landshut (AT)

Raimundtheater

raimundtheater.

Competition

1060 Vienna (AT)

Großenzersdrof.jpg

townhall groß-enzersdorf.

Competition

2301 Groß-Enzersdorf (AT)

Follow us

  • hochform. Facebook
  • hochform. Instagram

m.k. čiurlionis concert centre.

Wettbewerb

H. ir O. Minkovskiy g.

Kaunas (LT)

In Litauens Hauptstadt Kaunas, die 2022 Europäische Kulturhauptstadt ist, soll ein neues multifunktionales  Konzert- und Kulturzentrum mit 11.750 m² und öffentlichem Freiraum mit 6.600 m² nahe dem Stadtzentrum und direkt am Fluss Nemunas entstehen.

Art des Bauvorhabens

Neubau​

Planungszeitraum

2017

Gebäudedaten

Bauplatzgröße: 47.890 m²
Bebaute Fläche: ca. 8.000–10.000 m² angestrebt
Bruttogesamtfläche: 5.500 m²

Leistungen

Öffentlicher einstufiger Wettbewerb

Status

Wettbewerb abgeschlossen

Team

Projekt Direktor: Christoph Wassmann
Projektleitung: Christoph Wassmann
Projekt Team: Christoph Wassmann, Severin Turk, Clemens Aniser, Felix Steinhoff

Konsulenten und Fachplaner

Statik: Bollinger Grohmann  

Website

competitions.org

Der Wettbewerbsvorschlag sieht einen monumentalen, aber geometrisch einfachen Gebäudekomplex vor. Dieser besteht aus zwei übereinanderliegenden Plattformen mit eingebetteten und darüber hinausragenden, weithin sichtbaren Gebäudevolumina. Darum erstreckt sich eine spielerisch-poetisch gestaltete Flusslandschaft mit Klangwald, Skulpturengarten, Sommerbühne für 1500 Personen, Labyrinth, Spielplatz, Schiffsanlegestelle und Uferpromenade.

 

Die Topographie des Ortes nutzend bildet die obere Plattform einen öffentlichen Platz auf Straßenniveau, der Aufenthaltsort am Wasser, Aussichtsplattform und Zugang zum Kulturzentrum ist. Über Öffnungen gelangt man auf die untere Plattform auf Flussebene, dem Hauptfunktionsbereich. Straßenseitig sind Anlieferung, Service- und Bürozonen angeordnet. Foyer und öffentliche Bereiche wie Gastronomie, Shops und multifunktionale Veranstaltungsflächen sind ein lichtdurchflutetes Raumkontiuum, bei dem die umgebende Stadt und Flusslandschaft eine beeindruckende Kulisse bilden. Darin liegen eingebettet die Hauptkonzerthalle für 1500 Personen mit 25 m Raumhöhe , eine kleinere Konzerthalle für 700 Personen sowie das Konferenzzentrum für 600 Personen.

Folgen Sie uns

  • hochform. Facebook
  • hochform. Instagram