kadewe wien.

Competition, 2nd place

Mariahilfer Straße 18

1070 Vienna (AT)

Right between Vienna’s historical First District and the busy shopping street Mariahilfer Straße a new flagship destination will be established, where old and new will be combined.

Design and project management

Snøhetta

Project category

Department store, hotel

Client

Signa
 

Planning period

2019

Building data

Gross floor area: 72,000 m²

Approximate areas

Retail: 32,000 m²

Hotel: 15,000 m²

Car park & building services: 25,000 m²

Services

Structural engineering and building regulatory design counseling

Cost evaluation

Status

Competition complete, 2nd place

Team

Project team: Wolfgang Ruthensteiner, Thomas Schwed, Patrick Olczykowski

Consultants and specialist planners

Structural engineer: Bollinger + Grohmann Ingenieure
Building services & energy design: ARUP
Light planning: Bartenbach

The KaDeWe represents its own universe, which embodies dreams and inspiring stories. It is located right in the center of the city, but offers its guests with the magic to enter new worlds. This space provides room for the unexpected, while simultaneously fitting into day-to-day life.

 

The flow of visitors is directed from the streets through the building to the terrace on the rooftop. The final destination is the view over Viennas First District.

 

A literally cut-out atrium allows for a journey, the path through the building. At the same time, the surrounding floor areas are maximized. The atrium physically connects the street level entrance with the rooftop terrace.

 

The crystalline façade gives a first visual impression of the KaDeWe to visitors. The characteristics of the vertical walls transport the brand image. The materiality reflects the surrounding identity.

 

The plaza is designed to extend public space. The spacious area allows for big events to take place, such as fashion shows, design exhibitions, Christmas fairs or product presentations. Events and festivities can be held there.

 

A palm house on the top floor botanical and culinary experiences, in regard to nature and healthy cuisine. The architecture of the palm house is inspired by Vienna’s numerous beautiful palm houses. Its classical lightweight construction corresponds with elegant construction details. Different possibilities for shading shield from direct sunlight and prevent solar input. Lush greenery on different levels generates a pleasant atmosphere and creates microclimatic comfort zones. The ambience of the palm house offers a one-of-a-kind culinary and spatial experience.

 

The rooftop park presents a unique panoramic view over the city. It is a destination in Vienna nobody should miss.

 

Irrespective of KaDeWe’s opening hours, an external elevator brings guests straight up to the rooftop. The guests can visit the terrace for an extraordinary dinner inside the palm house or the hotel’s own star-restaurant, or just enjoy the view from the park over the city.

related projects.

Upper Zeil

upper zeil.

60313 Frankfurt (DE)

Interspar Amstetten

interspar hypermarkt amstetten.

3300 Amstetten (AT)

Follow us

  • hochform. Facebook
  • hochform. Instagram

kadewe wien.

Wettbewerb, 2. Platz

Mariahilfer Straße 18

1070 Wien (AT)

Zwischen Wiens historischem 1. Bezirk und der belebten Mariahilfer Straße wird eine neue Flagship-Destination geschaffen, die Altes und Neues verbindet.

Entwurf und Projektleitung

Snøhetta

Art des Bauvorhabens

Kaufhaus, Hotel

Auftraggeber

Signa
 

Planungszeitraum

2019

Gebäudedaten

Gesamtfläche brutto: 72.000 m²

Davon ungefähre Flächen

Retail: 32.000 m²

Hotel: 15.000 m²

Parken & Haustechnik: 25.000 m²

Leistungen

Bautechnische und baurechtliche Entwurfsberatung

Kostenermittlung

Status

Wettbewerb abgeschlossen, 2. Platz

Team

Projekt Team: Wolfgang Ruthensteiner, Thomas Schwed, Patrick Olczykowski

Konsulenten und Fachplaner

Statik: Bollinger + Grohmann Ingenieure
Haustechnik & Energiedesign: ARUP
Lichtplanung: Bartenbach

Das KaDeWe stellt ein eigenes Universum dar, das Träume und inspirierende Geschichten verkörpert. Der Ort befindet sich mitten in der Stadt, er bietet den Besuchern aber einen Zauber, der sie in andere Welten bringt. Un­erwartetes wird in diesen Räumen geboten, die sich gleichzeitig in den Alltag fügen.

Die Besucherströme werden von der Straße durch das Gebäude zur Dach­terrasse gelenkt. Der Blick auf den 1. Bezirk ist das Ziel.

 

Ein Atrium, das aus dem Gebäude förmlich herausgeschnitten wird, ermöglicht die Reise, den Weg durch das Gebäude. Gleichzeitig werden die umgebenden Geschoss­flächen maximiert. Das Atrium verbindet physisch den Eingang auf Straßenniveau mit der Dachterrasse.

 

Die kristalline Fassade ist der erste visuelle Eindruck, den Besucher vom KaDeWe bekommen. Die Ausprägungen der vertikalen Wände transportieren das Markenimage. Die Materialität reflektiert die Identität in die Umgebung.

Die Plaza ist als Erweiterung des öffentlichen Raums konzipiert. Die großzügige Fläche er­möglicht große Veranstaltungen wie Modeschauen, Design-Messen, Weihnachtsmärkte oder Produktpräsentationen. Dort sind Veranstaltungen und Feierlichkeiten möglich.

 

Im Dachgeschoß bietet das Palmenhaus botanische und kulinarische Erlebnisse, zur Wertschätzung von Natur und gesunder Cuisine. Die Architektur des Palmenhauses ist inspiriert von den zahlreichen, schönen Palmenhäusern in Wien. Die klassische, leichte Konstruktion korrespondiert mit eleganten Kons­truktionsdetails.  Unterschiedliche Beschattungsmöglichkeiten schirmen direkte Sonneneinstrah­lung ab und vermeiden Solareinträge. Üppige Bepflanzung in unterschiedlichen Höhen erzeugt ein angenehmes Raumklima und schafft mikroklimatische Wohlfühlzonen. Die Atmosphäre des Palmenhauses bietet ein einmaliges kulinarisches, wie räumliches Erlebnis.

 

Der Park auf dem Dach bietet einen einmaligen Panoramablick über die Stadt. Es ist eine der Destinationen in Wien, die keiner versäumen sollte.

 

Unabhängig von den Öffnungszeiten des KaDeWe bringt ein außen liegender Aufzug Besucher von der Straße direkt auf die Dachterrasse. Besucher können die Dachterrasse für ein außer­gewöhnliches Essen im Palmenhaus oder dem Sterne-Restaurant des Hotels aufsuchen, oder sie können einfach den Blick auf die Stadt vom Park aus genießen.

ähnliche projekte.

Upper Zeil

upper zeil.

60313 Frankfurt am Main (DE)

Interspar Amstetten

interspar hypermarkt amstetten.

3300 Amstetten (AT)

Folgen Sie uns

  • hochform. Facebook
  • hochform. Instagram