ikea vienna westbahnhof.

Competition

Europaplatz Westbahnhof

1150 Vienna (AT)

At the infrastructural traffic junction Westbahnhof and the beginning of Vienna's main shopping mile Mariahilfer Strasse, an IKEA inner-city furnishing store without parking spaces is to be built for the first time in the world. The perfect public, cycling and pedestrian connection should appeal to a new public and the multi-storey City-Store should be a living space for urban activities beyond the business use of the building.

Design

Snøhetta

Project category

New built

Client

IKEA Einrichtungen – Handelsgesellschaft m.b.H

Planning period

2018

Building data

Total area: 26,435 m²

Approximate areas

IKEA: ca. 20,000 m²

Hotel: 4,869 m²

Services

Invited idea competition

Status

Competition complete

Team

Project team: Penelope Rüttimann, Christoph Wassmann, Thomas Schwed

Consultants and specialist planners

Structural engineer: bollinger-grohmann
Building services: rabl-zt 

The designed, free-standing building with a gross floor area of approx. 26,500 m² opens on the ground floor in all directions to the streams of people in the city. With its transparency, the façade conveys openness and desired communication with the surroundings. From the newly designed Europaplatz, visitors are drawn directly into the building via inclined surfaces with uniform surface design.

A central atrium and three bundled access and technical cores allow eight freely playable floors for flexible sales design. The self-service hall is directly accessible from the outside. The public Urban Living Spaces allow active use of the furniture even outside opening hours. Showroom and market hall extend over three levels. A hotel brings additional life to the building and uses synergies with gastronomy such as Street Café and Ikea Restaurant as well as with shopping. The restaurant on the top floor, which is open to the public even after business hours, opens to a topographical roof landscape with terraces, seating steps and trees with views far over the city.

Follow us

  • hochform. Facebook
  • hochform. Instagram

ikea wien westbahnhof.

Wettbewerb

Europaplatz Westbahnhof

1150 Wien (AT)

Am infrastrukturellen Verkehrsknotenpunkt Westbahnhof und Beginn der Wiener Haupteinkaufsmeile Mariahilfer Straße soll weltweit erstmalig ein IKEA Innenstadteinrichtungshaus ohne PKW Stellplätze entstehen. Die perfekte öffentliche, radfahrtechnische und fußläufige Anbindung sollen ein neues Publikum ansprechen und das mehrstöckige City-Store über die Geschäftsnutzung des Gebäudes hinaus Lebensraum für urbane Aktivitäten sein.

Entwurf

Snøhetta

Art des Bauvorhabens

Neubau​

Auftraggeber

IKEA Einrichtungen – Handelsgesellschaft m.b.H

Planungszeitraum

2018

Gebäudedaten

Gesamtfläche: 26.435 m²

Davon ungefähre Flächen

IKEA: ca. 20.000 m²

Hotel: 4.869 m²

Leistungen

Geladener Wettbewerb

Status

Wettbewerb abgeschlossen

Team

Projekt Team: Penelope Rüttimann, Christoph Wassmann, Thomas Schwed

Konsulenten und Fachplaner

Statik: bollinger-grohmann
Haustechnik: rabl-zt 

Das konzipierte, freistehende Gebäude mit ca. 26.500 m² Bruttogesamtfläche öffnet sich erdgeschossig nach allen Seiten zu den Menschenströmen der Stadt. Die Fassade vermittelt durch ihre Transparenz Offenheit und gewünschte Kommunikation mit der Umgebung. Vom neugestalteten Europaplatz aus werden Besucher über geneigte Flächen mit einheitlicher Oberflächengestaltung direkt ins Gebäude gezogen.

Ein zentrales Atrium und drei gebündelte Erschließungs- und Technikkerne ermöglichen acht frei bespielbare Geschosse für flexible Verkaufsgestaltung. Die Selbstbedienungshalle ist direkt von außen zugänglich. Die öffentlichen Urban Living Spaces ermöglichen aktive Benutzung der Möbel auch außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten. Showroom und Markthalle erstrecken sich über drei Ebenen. Ein Hotel bringt zusätzliches Leben ins Gebäude und nutzt Synergien zu Gastronomie wie Street Café und Ikea Restaurant sowie zu Shopping. Das Restaurant im obersten Geschoss, das auch nach Geschäftsschluss öffentlich zugänglich ist, öffnet sich zu einer topografischen Dachlandschaft mit Terrassen, Sitzstufen und Bäumen mit Ausblicken weit über die Stadt.

Folgen Sie uns

  • hochform. Facebook
  • hochform. Instagram